From Girl, To Boy, To Bear

Bear’s Hello

Hello world!

Allow me to introduce myself! The name’s Shayne, but you can call me Bear! I’m a 20 year old guy, or at least that’s how I identify. See, for all intents and purposes, I was born the wrong gender, I was raised as a girl, and while it took me a good 18 years to learn the word for it, I always knew I wasn’t what I was meant to be. Somewhere along the lines the wires got crossed and I just came out wrong. But that’s okay!

On top of my transition and gender identity, I’m also facing issues with Borderline Personality Disorder and Bipolar Disorder. Typically, individuals who wish to transition, who also have mental or psychological disorders, have a more difficult time getting diagnosed with Gender Identity Dysphoria (which all transitioning individuals must be diagnosed with before they can begin their transition), and I can back that up completely! I struggled with convincing psychiatrists that I was of sound and stable mind to make the decision to transition, but I eventually won (more about that later)!

I came out as Trans* to friends in 2008, my parents in 2013, and my extended family earlier this year. Many received the news well, or already saw it coming, but others (mostly extended family, but some friends too) took it negatively and have since disowned me. While it’s unfortunate that some chose to walk out of my life, my coming out went infinitely better than some people in the world, and for that I am grateful.

I’m hoping that this will be an educational resource for people who are transitioning, friends and family of transpeople, and anyone who is simply curious about what “transgender” is and transitioning involves. I am very open to questions and comments, so please don’t hesitate to leave me a note!

Leave a Reply

